Turkey Cutlet Piccata

CG Pics 3-18 001

 

The other day,  I went to the new Trader Joe’s that opened in Clifton.  I had never shopped in a Trader Joe’s and was pleasantly surprised at the selection of organic foods and low prices. I was looking for some meats and came across some beautiful turkey cutlets.  They were nice and pink and thin.  Yum! I was not sure how I would prepare them, but they looked so fresh, I had to get them. And then it hit me…Turkey Piccata! Normally, people make the piccata with chicken, but I figured it would be just as good with the turkey…and it was.  Here is the recipe (adapted from Giada De Laurentiis):

Ingredients:

4-6 turkey or chicken cutlets

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

flour for dredging

2 TBSP butter (unsalted)

2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil

3/4 cup reduced sodium chicken broth

juice and zest of 1 lemon

2 TBSP drained capers

2 TBSP chopped fresh parsley

Directions:

1.  Sprinkle the cutlets with salt and pepper.

2. Dredge the cutlets in flour and coat lightly.  Shake off any excess.

3.  In large skillet, melt the butter and olive oil together.

4.  Add the cutlets and cook until just brown, about 3 minutes on each side.

5.  Remove cutlets to a plate.

6.  Add the broth, lemon juice and capers to the skillet whisking together and getting all of the drippings from the cutlets.

7.  Bring to a boil.

8.  Return the cutlets to the skillet and cook about 5 minutes.

9.  Top with the parsley and enjoy!

TIP #1 – I like to serve these with mashed potatoes, rice or couscous on the side  – anything that will soak up the extra juice!

TIP#2 – Feel free to use more or less lemon.  We like it lemony so I zest the entire thing, but you don’t have to.

Leave a comment

Brie Gowen

Savor the Essence of Life

Drowning in Sufficient Grace

..."My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness" (2 Corinthians 12:9)

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Cooking Goose

Cooking and Baking and Blogging, Oh My!

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

EatWellChef

UNBIASED

The Gourmand Mom

Good food, seasoned with a dash of life