Apple Bourbon Pulled Pork and Sauerkraut in a Crock Pot!

 

Blog pics 2-25 001

 

I had never heard of pork and kraut until I moved to Easton, Pennsylvania and my roommate’s mother prepared it for us New Year’s Day. She said it was a Pennsylvania Dutch tradition that if you ate pork and kraut on the first day of the new year, it would bring you good luck, healthy and prosperity. I don’t know if that’s actually true, but figured it certainly could not hurt to eat it.  It was the first time I ever had the two together and I really enjoyed it. I liked the mild flavor of the pork with the tang of the sauerkraut.  Yum.

Pork is actually not as bad for you as you might think.  According to the Hormel package, 4 oz of pork is only 140 calories.  And, according to Dr. Oz, sauerkraut is very good for you because it is basically pickled cabbage and supposedly can help speed up your metabolism.  That makes me like pork and kraut even more!

The other day, I had a craving for pork and kraut.  I had bought a flavored pork tenderloin earlier in the week and decided to try them together.  What a match!! Hormel makes pork tenderloins in all different flavors.  I usually only buy the original without any flavorings to make my pulled pork sandwiches. However, something possessed me to buy the apple-bourbon flavored one and it turned out to be a great idea!  Here’s how you make it:

Ingredients:

1 27 oz can of sauerkraut

1 18 0z apple bourbon pork tenderloin

That’s all you need!!

Directions:

1.  Put the pork tenderloin in the crock pot.

2. Open the sauerkraut and pour it over the pork.

3.  Put the lid on and let it cook on low for 5 hours.

4.  Pull the pork apart and eat!

Blog pics 2-25 002

Blog pics 2-25 003

 

TIP #1 –   I served it with baked beans on the side.

TIP #2 – Let it sit a day and serve it the next night.  The flavors will have marinated more and it tastes even better!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sean Breslin
    Feb 25, 2013 @ 14:22:13

    Wow…looks fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Cooking Goose

Cooking and Baking and Blogging, Oh My!

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

Homemade With Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

EatWellChef

UNBIASED

Confessions of a Pioneer Woman | Ree Drummond

Cooking and Baking and Blogging, Oh My!

The Gourmand Mom

Good food, seasoned with a dash of life

Bake Love Not War

Changing the world, one cupcake at a time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

